Tags

, , ,

How do they know me
based upon concepts
the ideas of other people
How can they feel me
feel all of me
one person among many
I am a composite
collecting fragments
of myself from yesterday
building today
facing tomorrow
Yet I am nothing but the target
The symbol of the hate
another person has internalized
which has nothing to do with me
I am not about anyone's past
I am not about harm
I am not about hate
I am not about violence
I am not about destruction
I am not about hurtfulness
I am not about pain
I am not about resentment
I am not about manipulation
I am not about hostility
I am not about degradation
I am not about prejudice
I am not about war
I am not about vengeance
I am not about victimization
yet I will defend myself
I will not lie down
and allow myself to be kicked
though I should like
a little more passive resistance
in my nature
I am all about peace
harming no one
no one harming me
why is this so difficult to understand
