Tags

This has been a long time coming but I have decided to, at least temporarily, discontinue “Fay.”  I don’t believe there are any hard core and dedicated followers of it, or anyone that it would deeply disappoint.  If I’m wrong about that, I apologize.  While I’ve been working on it, it’s been an up and down road.  A part of me enjoys the story and is anxious to see how it ends.  Another part of me would rather focus on other things.  Essentially, these are the reasons I’m discontinuing the story:

1.  It’s not my genre at all.  I’ve always wanted to try my hand at horror or a thriller and I think I know what to expect from it now.  I’m still interested in trying, but it wouldn’t be this story.  I started this story so long ago and it never stuck as something that meant anything other than a personal assignment.  Also, there’s a huge action sequence that is waiting to happen in “Fay.”  I sense it in the wings, and it kind of needs to happen.  When it comes to action, I could never have written “Die Hard.”  I’m more of a “Pulp Fiction” kind of action writer.

2.  Saturday mornings are the only mornings, unless I have plans, that I get to sleep in if I need to.  I get up at 5:30am every morning in order to write.  I can’t write all day long or in the evening.  Lately I’ve been so busy it’s been hard to get up these Saturdays to work on “Fay.”  There’s just not enough pull for me.  I was lying in bed this morning groaning about it.  Then I decided, I needed to give myself a break.  If I get up at 5:30am on Saturday mornings, it will be when I’m camping, or I will be writing something that doesn’t make me whine like it’s homework.

So, I would love to hear reactions to this, such as, “good Sage it sucked anyway.”  I wanted so much to finish it, if for no other reason, for the integrity of being a writer.  But essentially, it’s not dignifying enough if I only invest an hour into each post and the context as a whole doesn’t get the proper revision.  It’s no Dickens anyway.  I’m anxious to be done with it, have a bit of a break, and then either move onto something new, or use the Saturday mornings as another day for my work in progress.

Anyway, like I said, I’d love to hear your thoughts, especially if you were following the story, I’d like to know your response to this.  I don’t think I’ll be disappointing anyone, however if I am, then I will get back to the story at a later time.  If I’m not, I may discontinue it altogether.  Or I could reinstate the interactive element from way back when.

Ok that’s all.  I feel free to breathe now with that responsibility gone.  I love writing, when I’m loving what I write, that’s what it’s all about.

Take care and have a great Saturday!

Sage

